Save-Point
Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Games Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Code Support (https://www.save-point.org/forum-20.html)
+--- Thread: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames (/thread-3326.html)



Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - firestalker5 - 03-31-2011

I know there's a way to do this... But I can't remember the way to do it.

It was something like 'pause(10)', then it'll continue the script afterward.

That's not it.... already tried that.

Any one know what I'm talking about?



RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - firestalker5 - 04-04-2011

Some how the problem either fixed itself or I changed some thing in another script that gave me the desired result accidentally.

But I would still like this, for future reference if ever I need it.



RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - Taylor - 04-05-2011

The pause function only works in scripts that define it. By default I think only Scene_Battle uses it.


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - firestalker5 - 04-05-2011

Really? Man.... I vaguely remember there being a way to use "Call Script" to pause teh entire game for a set amount time. I originally wanted to slow a filling bar down a little, but that fixed itself [not sure how]. Now I was thinking of using it to make one of my cut scenes more dramatic by "pausing" the event at certain intervals to add to the tension.


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - Draycos Goldaryn - 04-24-2011

try this:

Code:
def wait(frames)
  frame = 0
  loop do
    break if frame >= frames
    Graphics.update
    frame +=1
  end
end

then to pause for, say, 10 frames, call wait(10)


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - firestalker5 - 04-24-2011

Thanks... I'll give it a shot.


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - deValdr - 04-24-2011

Sleep(duration) works but it will completely stop everything from processing for the specified amount of frames. For example sleep(20) for 20 frames pause


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - firestalker5 - 04-25-2011

That's actually what I was hoping to do... so it's sleep? Never would have thought that one.


RE: Pausing script from processing for a number of frames - deValdr - 04-25-2011

Yep

Code:
sleep(20)

Code:
sleep(40)

etc