Save-Point
Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Games Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Code Support (https://www.save-point.org/forum-20.html)
+--- Thread: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window (/thread-3597.html)



Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - yamina-chan - 07-03-2011

Script and Demo to the Advanced Shop Status Window can be found right here: http://save-point.org/showthread.php?tid=2762
I made a thread because A) RPG Advocate isn't registered and B) as far as I understand Necroposting, this would count as such and if I remember correctly save-point had a rule against, it, so... If you want me to post it there instead, just say so and I'll do that.


Now, what did I notice that I want to make a thread about this?
First of all, a realy small bug that I was able to fix myself: In line 211 it sais:

[Image: intbb.jpg]
That needs to be changed to:
Code:
if int_change != 0
Otherwise, if you raise or decrease the INT with some equipment, the number will show up but no text. And if you raise STR the INT text will show up for no reason.
So...small bug but can be quite anoying.

The second thing I noticed is something that I couldn't figure out just yet. Please take a look at this picture:
Content Hidden

If the "staus" aplies not only to one player but the ones beneath as well, their text will show up smaler. This happens with No Change and Currently Equipped.
It just looks weird and I have no clue what causes this. So I hope someone else has an idea how to fix that.



RE: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - yamina-chan - 08-17-2011

After checking my worklist for my game I realized that I had brought up this particular problem allready but had gotten no answer so far.
So...the question still exists: what is causing the second bug and how can I fix that? Any ideas?
I looked into it a few times but scriting really isn't something I know much about...


RE: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - DerVVulfman - 08-21-2011

You may wish to take a look now, milady.


RE: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - yamina-chan - 08-21-2011

Thank you a lot! =D
It seems to work perfectly fine now. I may know next to nothing about scripting but out of seer curiosity: what was the problem?
(Also: Milady? XD I don't think I've been called that before *laughs*)


RE: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - NightOwl - 08-21-2011

Besides what you found? Which you spotted brilliantly, might I add...

I doublechecked and made sure that the code itself wasn't changed other than the re-insert of comments, so the original script IS intact in the thread. The errors in what is posted here are the same original errors from Phylomortis.com.

It appears that a second instance of setting the font and fontsize to 24 were not added to the beginning of the for actor.... end block.

It kinda resembled this:
Code:
SET FONT TO 24
FOR ACTOR...
  GET DATA
  IF IT IS THIS....
    SET FONT TO 16
  END
  PRINT IT ON SCREEN
END

When it should have resembled this:
Code:
FOR ACTOR...
  SET FONT TO 24
  GET DATA
  IF IT IS THIS....
    SET FONT TO 16
  END
  PRINT IT ON SCREEN
END

It needed to reset the font for each iteration, but didn't.

Oh, and I fixed that characterset appearance bit by adding a set of code that made sure the window was visible or not.... and to make sure it only worked if the characters were even drawn. If they weren't on the screen, it coulda caused an error if I tried to make non-existant characters invisible. *KE-RASH!*


RE: Something I noticed about the Advanced Shop Status Window - yamina-chan - 08-21-2011

Ah, thanks for explaining ^^ That actually makes sense.
And thanks for solving the problem as well =D