Save-Point
MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Material Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Scripts Database (https://www.save-point.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised (/thread-5190.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 02-14-2015

The MicKo Revised system not only allows one to define Skill trees for individual actors, but can allow one to make tree sets for character classes. I intended that the 'configurable switch' in the script, CLASS_TREE_START on line 111 to be set to false rather than true, but ... heheh... I accidentally left the switch turned on, so it is assuming you made trees for every class.

IF you have it set to false, you can make one set of trees (defined as SKILL_ROWS[actor.id]) per actor. IF you forget to make a tree for an actor, the system has NO problem and skips the actor in favor of a blank screen. That would explain the "Estelle was here" screenie as I didn't want Estelle (Actor #5) to have a tree.

BUT... if you have the fore-mentioned switch set to true, you MUST define a set of trees (again defined as SKILL_ROWS(class_id) for each character class. This time, you cannot skip a class. That's why, within the demo, you can see that both the 1st and 2nd party members share the same class tree. They share the same class.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - ThePrinceofMars - 02-14-2015

sorry to be a pain I turned the switch to false but now I am getting this message
[Image: moreerrors.jpg]


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 02-15-2015

You may use either the commands.....
$scene = Scene_SkillTree.new( actor_index [, from_map ])
-or-
skilltree( actor_index [, from_map ])

.... to bring up the skill tree. HOWEVER, if you have only 2 people in your party and ask to bring up the 3rd member in your party, you'd have an error as there would not be any actor for the skill tree system. Actor index is not the same as the actor_ID after all, and is mentioned in the instructions in the script.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - ThePrinceofMars - 02-20-2015

Really really sorry to keep bothering you but am I supposed to enter that as the script the entity uses to make the skilltree appear or is that meant to go in the skilltree script somewhere? again I must apologize I have next to no understanding of scripting


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Miharu - 02-20-2015

It's meant to be called from an event in game from what I understand.
Epic script btw! Going to try it out right away when I get home.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - ThePrinceofMars - 02-20-2015

[Image: skilltreehelp.jpg]
I tried that I just keep getting a syntax error or am I supposed to write the maps name where it says from_map?


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Miharu - 02-20-2015

Home now, lemme read through it real quick.
First of all, this is an XP script. I don't have experience with XP (yet!)

Looking at the demo, I've figured something out tbh. You shouldn't call the script as $scene = Scene_SkillTree.new( actor_index [, from_map ]) as you did, but instead make the actor_index correspond to your actor's ID in the database. the from_map should be left alone I think(try changing that too), although I can't test it (because I don't own RMXP (yet, god dammit!)
Try downloading the demo and check out how the events are made in the demo, that's most likely the best way to figure it out.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 02-21-2015

The syntax is correct. It uses the same actor_index value as other main menu functions, such as the Scene_Item, Scene_Skill and others. And insofar as the from_map value, this lets one generate a Skill Tree from an event. This would be like one is learning skill techniques from a trainer NPC who asks what skill types one may wish to learn.

One can gain the actor_index of a particular party member by oerforming a small scriptette that cycles through the party until the desired ID is found
Code:
actor_index = nil
actor_id = 3
for member in $game_party.actors
if member.id == actor_id
actor_index = member.index
end
end
p actor_index
This bit looks for whatever actor in your party is actor #3 in your database (Cyrus). If he's not there, it would return 'nil' otherwise, it would be the actor_index in your party.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - ThePrinceofMars - 02-22-2015

what does this new script do? it shows the actor index of my character ok what does that mean I have to do to the script to make the skilltree appear please remember you are talking to a complete layman explain it as if you were talking to a child.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Miharu - 02-22-2015

The script snippet VVulfman posted prints out the actor id for your actor. It's the actor_index variable used in the code you put in the event.