Save-Point
MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Material Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Scripts Database (https://www.save-point.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised (/thread-5190.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - kyonides - 12-10-2019

Just remove the lines that begin with "p " because p stands for print or puts.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 12-11-2019

Or just turn off the statement that says "SHOW_PROGRESS" in the configuration section at the top.... setting it to false

It's there as a tool so you can see how the points increase per level.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Fenriswolf - 12-11-2019

(12-11-2019, 04:36 AM)DerVVulfman Wrote: Or just turn off the statement that says "SHOW_PROGRESS" in the configuration section at the top.... setting it to false

It's there as a tool so you can see how the points increase per level.

I see it now, thanks.

What is the basic formula for point calculation?
Because I am not getting the output I want for some reason.

What I am trying to get is (points per level):
0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 5, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, etc. until lvl cap 40.

Why did you set the rate and increase to a minimum of 0.1?

Also, will this work for actors joining the party later?
At level 20 for example.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 12-12-2019

The combination to get is pretty ... tough. Gotta admit that. I basically cobbled it together.

I take it that your example is the points rate (not added together)...

I set the minimum rates that way so you cannot have errors like 'division by zero'.

The points are generated in the 'setup' method, the same method that generates your experience points.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Fenriswolf - 12-14-2019

(12-12-2019, 04:14 AM)DerVVulfman Wrote: The combination to get is pretty ... tough.  Gotta admit that.  I basically cobbled it together.

I take it that your example is the points rate (not added together)...

I set the minimum rates that way so you cannot have errors like 'division by zero'.

The points are generated in the 'setup' method, the same method that generates your experience points.

Sorry for the late reply.
I haven't been able to work on the project for the past couple of days.

I'll make a workaround, increase the amount of points per tree if need be.

I finished the trees for my first actor and was going to start with the second one.
But when I try to access the tree with the 2nd actor, I get this error:

[Image: sTa1Q51.png]

Any idea why?

EDIT: I call the talent tree from standard menu with a few tweaks.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 12-15-2019

Hrm. There is an issue with your error message. Not that it is wrong, but because that the configuration for the Skill Trees is also within the script. The more lines you put into the configuration, the more the change line line numbers.

However, I would suspect that the issue is with the coding of your skill tree. Perhaps a copy of it here could help? AND a copy of the line number in the script could help.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Fenriswolf - 12-15-2019

(12-15-2019, 05:12 AM)DerVVulfman Wrote: Hrm.  There is an issue with your error message.  Not that it is wrong, but because that the configuration for the Skill Trees is also within the script.  The more lines you put into the configuration, the more the change line line numbers.

However, I would suspect that the issue is with the coding of your skill tree. Perhaps a copy of it here could help?    AND a copy of the line number in the script could help.

Alright, here is a copy of the script: https://gofile.io/?c=Iqgx9E

Error takes place in here:

Code:
 def update_cursor_rect
   if self.active
     @line     = $data_skills[@item_used[@index]].line(@switch_id, @tree) # This line
     @position = $data_skills[@item_used[@index]].position(@switch_id, @tree)
     new_x     = $data_skills[@item_used[@index]].x
     new_y     = $data_skills[@item_used[@index]].y
     self.cursor_rect.set(new_x, new_y, 24, 24)
   else
     self.cursor_rect.empty
   end
 end



RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 12-16-2019

I got it.

You made skill trees for characters/classes that have NO skill trees. Erm... nope. Just, don't make the skill trees. Winking Keep only the one tree and cut the others out.

You see, as long as there is just ONE non-nil entry in the tree, the 'nil' values act as placeholders and keep the data integrity. But if every entry is nil, then the whole array becomes empty.

Don't worry if you have actors and no matching skill trees. It will show the default background for the actor with no tree, OR it can show a custom background that says "Anne Parillaud‎ and Jean Reno were here!"

BUUUTTTT.... If you're planning on using them and have them as placeholders, just comment them out.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - Fenriswolf - 12-16-2019

(12-16-2019, 04:08 AM)DerVVulfman Wrote: I got it.  

You made skill trees for characters/classes that have NO skill trees.  Erm... nope.  Just, don't make the skill trees. Winking  Keep only the one tree and cut the others out.

You see, as long as there is just ONE non-nil entry in the tree, the 'nil' values act as placeholders and keep the data integrity.  But if every entry is nil, then the whole array becomes empty.

Don't worry if you have actors and no matching skill trees.  It will show the default background for the actor with no tree, OR it can show a custom background that says "Anne Parillaud‎ and Jean Reno were here!"

BUUUTTTT.... If you're planning on using them and have them as placeholders, just comment them out.

I see. Those trees are going to be used, so I will comment them out for now :-)

Thanks for checking it out.


RE: MicKo's Skill Tree - Revised - DerVVulfman - 12-17-2019

No problem. Winking