Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MetalRenard starts doodling...
So I decided to start drawing because I think I'd be a much more useful person if I learnt another apsect of game design, so drawing is what I decided to do since I think I have a slight affinity with it already.

I followed this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auh6XIB9q6k
to make this: [Image: 100220131101.jpg]

Of course it's not original. I want any feedback or tips you can give me since I'm a complete beginner at this. ^_^"

P.S. I'm aware the eye on the right is too high. :)
Reply }
If you want to start drawing, then let me give you this tip: don't start with following videos like this, that will come later =)
By following these tutorials you won't develop a "feel" on how to draw certain things, because you will focus to much on the copy aspect itself. A much more usefull thing would be a diffrent copy technice, because that one actually will help you to understand how things work: take a preferably black and white lineart, put a piece of thin white paper or semi transparent sandwich paper on top of it and trace the lines. Make sure you draw the thin lines actually thin and the thick ones thick. If you do this enough -possibly with two or three diffrent artstyles- you will develop a subconcious knowledge why the creator of the original drawing decided to place every line where s/he did. It will take some time, but it is worth it. Because once you have earned and secured that knowledge, it is much easier to follow things like this drawing tutorial video. It is more naturall to understand how the process works and will then be better practice =)
Once you feel fully confortable with the copy process - and only then! - start to practice properly, with helplines and everything. While it is certainly possible to draw without ever using them: profecionall artists use them for a reason. And they will once again be a great help in the learning progress.