Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
 Become a composer! Part 1: Baby Steps!
Become A Composer! Everything You Need To Get Started.
Part 1: Baby Steps!
Introduction
Dear friends and fellow creative souls, this is an introduction to creating music in a digital environment. These tutorials are for absolute beginners! They are in a series of tutorials I have made over the past couple of years and take parts from previous tutorials but change the focus from production to composition. You can read my previous tutorials here:
An Introduction To Digital Music Creation, Pt 1
An Introduction To Digital Music Creation, Pt 2
Those two tutorials teach you how to set up your environment, find instruments and the mechanics of creating music. What you learn there can often be applied to other software too.

These new tutorials will not teach you how to compose! They will give you the tools to learn how to compose on your own.
This will be achieved through analysis, exercises, discussion and your own hard work. Be forewarned, I am not a trained composer, my approach to composing is therefore one of a self-taught musician and might not be for everyone.

Feel free to ask questions about anything I mention and more! A curious mind is a great mind.

Understanding These Tutorials
This isn't going to be easy. Composing, creating music, is a difficult task and one you will need to dedicate a lot of time to if you want to get good. It is incredibly rewarding though! Seeing people's eyes light up when they enjoy something you've created is a fantastic feeling.

Quite often I will put a word in italics. This is to help you understand when I'm stressing an idea, to help add intonation to the writing.
Other times I will put a word in bold. Every word in bold is an important word you probably need to understand/research. Explanations of these words are available on Wikipedia, just type them and "wiki" into google to read up on them. Easy!
Specific instructions are in orange.