Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
Lemme guess.... Very low IDs to your skills, right? If you have a low number like ID #2 for Greater Heal further down the list than Cross cut (#57), it'll go after Greater Heal first as a starting position. You gotta plan ahead your skills in your database.
Um, I didn't know that until you pointed it out.
Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2013
I do not think it is the skills id. Their order in the database coincided with the order in the tree. After trying to fix it on my own I've managed to muck part of my game up, so now it is back to almost the beginning. Any other suggestions on how to make a fifth row work smoothly?
I like the script, but one thing I would really like was already mentioned by another user, it really sucks having upgraded skills need to change to a whole new skill rather than just increase the stats of said skill by x amount for every point into it...
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
I didn't think the skill order mattered at first either. But I did confirm that it did matter last night when I made the post yesterday. I'm at work, so I cannot be exact, but I failed when I created this skill tree for Aluxes... just as you did:
Code: 0 >= [nil, 57, nil],
1 >= [nil, nil, 58],
2 >= [nil, nil, 59],
3 >= [nil, 60, nil],
4 >= [nil, 2, nil]
...but succeeded when I did this...
Code: 0 >= [nil, 2, nil],
1 >= [nil, 57, nil],
2 >= [nil, nil, 58],
3 >= [nil, nil, 59],
4 >= [nil, 60, nil]
Again... I'm at work and don't have my actual RMXP up at this time... but this is what I did. And I had to add 'Greater Heal' to his skill list in the Class database.
HOWEVER... I had to remember to link the skills too. That comes to the skill dependencies... requirements... whatever. That's the part where you say 'skill 2 can become skill 57 after updating:
Code: ... =[ 57 => 2, 58 => 57, 59 => 58....
This was required and confirmed. I did have your issue, but I found that the IDs did need to be in order and that the 'requirement' feature had to be set.
I do hear you about the whole 'change the whole skill to another being a pain, but I don't think MicKo thought about how to approach the idea without hampering or changing the same skill if used by another actor. There is are other scripts out there that upgrades the skills as you practice them, but combining two scripts probably would not work together.
Well, it would be funny if Aluxes learned Crosscut... practiced enough to be Spiral Blade without needing the skill tree (automatically upgrading the tree by accident)... then could just use the points to go to Hurricane slash. But that's hopeful, and I am uncertain the two scripts would actually function together.
Up is down, left is right and sideways is straight ahead. - Cord "Circle of Iron", 1978 (written by Bruce Lee and James Coburn... really...)
Above are clickable links
Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your helpful response. I believe the issue I was having was the requirements section was not filled out all the way, I was checking to see if the tree looked good before doing all the work of assigning prereqs, guess if I just powered through and filled out the entire script I wouldn't have had this issue. Thanks again for your help.
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2009
I've become an avid player of pathfinder recently, and was wondering if there was a way to set up two different instances of this script, one for class related skills (such as spells, rogue talents, favored enemies,rage powers, etc.) and one for feats? it would be amazing to have a level of character customization close to if not equal to the tabletop...
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
Hey, Alistor!
Actually, the demo has it set up so that Basil has TWO skill trees. You can have even more if you want, one for combat, one for magic and one for kick butt feats. Go for broke and think individual skill trees for 'Alchemy', 'Alteration', 'Conjuration', 'Destruction', 'Enchantment', 'Illusion', 'Mysticism' and 'Restoration'
Oh, and it's per actor. One actor can have 15 trees while another could just have 3, 1, or none. Actually, each actor must have one tree defined in this system... I think.
Up is down, left is right and sideways is straight ahead. - Cord "Circle of Iron", 1978 (written by Bruce Lee and James Coburn... really...)
Above are clickable links
Posts: 713
Threads: 23
Joined: Jul 2013
I've been looking for a skill tree script for ages... This looks promising...
"Turning iron ore into iron swords is a hard process, for one must first dig out the rock, and melt it to refine it, then one must pour that metal into a mould, let it cool a bit, and pound on it while it cools even further. Games are no different." - Ahzoh
Universal Declaration of Human Rights in Vrkhazhian
ʾEšol ḵavud ʾelẕakud lav ʾezʾaẕud zwazaršeru ya lit žalneru lav lit t͛enud. Ṗal sa-ražheru lav raržižu paplam lav ṗal widsaṟam bemaḵu šuku lit ʾeyṭu waẏnilaẇ.
All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2009
hmm... i guess i could just copy the script into two spots on the list, and alter the title of one of them so they each have their own script call to respond to... then i can pass out the appropriate number of points based on whether it's a feat or a class ability...
Posts: 11
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2009
So, I'm using this script with a party selection script by Selwyn. since this script assumes there are predetermined characters, and there are no characters assigned till the player chooses his party, how can this be made to work...?
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
Selwyn's uses pre-made heroes where you select 1 of a collection. Like... Actors 1-4. So each of the 4 actors should have skill trees made ahead of time.
Up is down, left is right and sideways is straight ahead. - Cord "Circle of Iron", 1978 (written by Bruce Lee and James Coburn... really...)
Above are clickable links
|