Save-Point
AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Material Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Scripts Database (https://www.save-point.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive (/thread-2566.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - DerVVulfman - 02-26-2019

Animated Battlers VX? Not really supported. The help file can cover MOST of the material. But some content in the help file doesn't work with VX because XP's is way more advanced.

And there's limited VX usage. People either went back to XP or forward to VXAce.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - kyonides - 02-26-2019

You see, Holder, there are very few scripters that would ever support VX nowadays or even years ago. I'm one of those, but I don't recall wulfo publishing VX adapted scripts in a long time so don't get used to it. Laughing + Tongue sticking out

To be honest, XP tilesets and mapping and VX Ace's new DB improvements tend to catch people's attention and make them ignore VX that is just a messy version that doesn't even deserve to be called an intermediate step. VX ended up being VX Ace's loser cousin. Laughing You can keep your VX projects if you like, though you'll have a hard time trying to get things adapted, ported, fixed, improved and so on.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - Holder - 02-27-2019

Ah right, I was just updating the script list that my battlers could be used with and some of them I couldn't find anymore. Animated VX was one of them, I had a house slasher link but it's not there anymore. I'm not making anything kyonides I am just wanting to get people to find whats available for whatever engine they're using.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - DerVVulfman - 02-28-2019

Oh, it's configurable. And there is a linkie over here for the VX version.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - Holder - 07-08-2019

Got an actor transparency problem. Tried looking through the configuration section, altering a few values but not having any luck.
Basic problem is that all my actors are slightly transparent, enemies aren't. There's no numbers in the array for transparent actors and I've tried altering that value to 0 and 255 to see if it makes a difference.


.jpg   transprob.jpg (Size: 516.79 KB / Downloads: 3)


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - DerVVulfman - 07-09-2019

Configuration Page 1: Basics

Line 99 is the TRANSLUCENCY value setting how translucent/solid battlers may be if they are not fully solid on the screen. I have it set to 127, a middle-range setting.

Line 100 is TRANSLUCENT_ACTOR, an array to fill with the IDs of actors that are semi-solid or Translucent.
Line 101 is TRANSLUCENT_ENEMY, an array to do the same thing, but with enemies by their ID in the enemy database.

Or as the help file reads
Quote:TRANSLUCENCY = numeric integer value

The TRANSLUCENCY setting doesn't make all of your actors or enemies transparent. However, it does define how transparent or solid certain actors or enemies will be. If an actor is defined as one that is transparent, and an enemy is likewise defined as a transparent enemy, both will use this setting. Valid values for the TRANSLUCENCY setting are from 0 to 255, which is the same range that the RPGMaker line of engines use for the transparency/opacity settings.



TRANSLUCENT_ACTOR = array (numeric)

If you do not have any actors that are transparent, you can leave the brackets [] for this array empty. However, if you have any actors that can be seen through, it is here where you list them within the TRANSLUCENT_ACTOR setting by their ID values. If, for example, you decide that Cyrus (default Actor #3) and Dorothy (Actor #4) are transparent, you would list them within the brackets thus: [3,4]. How transparent your actor or actors will be is defined by the TRANSLUCENCY value above. No Actor or Enemy can have separate TRANSLUCENCY settings.



TRANSLUCENT_ENEMY = array (numeric)

The TRANSLUCENT_ENEMY setting mirrors that of the TRANSLUCENT_ACTOR setting, except it identifies which enemies are transparent and which that are not. Again, it is an array which you can fill, and you do so with the IDs of your enemies that you want to be transparent. And again, the level of transparency is defined by the TRANSLUCENCY value above.



HOWEVER!!!!
What you may not realize is that ... the default battlesystem reduces the opacity of any battler when the battler is NOT engaged in action. In Sprite_Battler's update method, lines 69-71 show the in-battle adjustment. This is not part of AnimBat! but part of the way the default system is written. If it is in use with another battlesystem that does not use this effect... well... hehe.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - Holder - 07-09-2019

Configuration Page 1: Basics is where I tried altering it but it's as you say, it's when they're not in use. I honestly never realised that, is there a way to disable them being transparent when not engaged? I've been looking to see if I can just toggle a number to not reduce the transparency but failing quite spectacularly.


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - DerVVulfman - 07-10-2019

Laughing Yeah, it's the default battlesystem. Just attack that block of code in the original Sprite_Battler class. Tongue sticking out My system doesn't alter or change built-in effects like that. I leave that to end-users. Winking


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - Holder - 07-10-2019

Took those lines out but copied them into a notepad incase i need them back in. Cheers :)


RE: AnimBat! - Animated Battlers - Comprehensive - DerVVulfman - 09-14-2019

After all this time, someone at RPGMakerWeb delivered an accurate bug report for a real coding error.

The member, redtri17, attempted to configure a specific weapon to render a pose not-standard. His alteration/edit was correct and proper. And his expectation of it changing the pose based on the weapon as he configured was accurate. So yes, there is a bug in version 1.0.

Simple to track, the ATTACK_WEAPONS value only works within the following page of the system:
4 - Battle Engine Classes. The error within the code can be corrected by a simple change to line 926 within the animbat_function_update_phase4_step3_pose_attack method.

Merely change
Code:
temp_pose = hash_obtain2(battler, nil, temp_hash)
to
Code:
temp_pose = hash_obtain2(battler, battler.weapon_id, temp_hash)


This essentially allow the feature that changes the weappn to recognize which weapon by its ID.

While I have not as yet updated the demos, this does change the system to version 1.1 on today's date of September 14, 2019. And now redtri17 will be included in the credits.