Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2010
I am very interested in using the CT battle system, but I was wondering if you could recommend a way to make the enemies move around?
I want to make attacks that affect a geometric area on the screen like Chrono Trigger did, so moving enemies is vital to me. If you know of an addon for moving enemies that would work well with your CT battle system, or know of a way to modify your addon to do this, please point me in the right direction. I have some scripting knowledge and could theoretically do it myself eventually, but having your input on where to start would help tremendously. Thank you.
Also, opening the status screen from the menu causes an error:
Script 'ACBS | Battle Main Code' line 576: TypeError Encountered
cannot convert nil into String
This is with the Chrono Trigger Battle System, Anti Lag, and Atoa ATB moved up to above Main.
Posts: 77
Threads: 12
Joined: Sep 2009
hello
when i use the ATB and set cast time for magic = true + cast time for item = false,
there is still a cast time for item. looks like it's not working, is it normal ?
Posts: 191
Threads: 81
Joined: Jul 2009
@mageone
Strange, but you can also remove the cast for items mannually on the cast settings.
@LockeZ
An add-on for automatic movement is quit improbable, since during battle passability isn't considered, so it would be really hard, but there will be an way to change battlers postions via script call, so you will be able to make them move via events.
Also there's no add-ons other than the ones on the demo since i'm the only one worinkg on this system.
About the error, i never had it here, did you get it on the demo?
Posts: 77
Threads: 12
Joined: Sep 2009
@ Atoa,
thank you, that is working ! i just had to delete the lines :
Cast_Time['Item'] = {1 => [500,'int'], 2 => [500,'int'], 3 => [500,'int'],
7 => [500,'int'], 8 => [500,'int'], 9 => [500,'int'], 10 => [500,'int'],
11 => [500,'int'], 12 => [500,'int']}
i just hope it will not affect the rest of the script.
@ LockeZ
if you want a CBS with moving ennemies you can try the Star Ocean BS.
look for Star Ocean SBS by CrushD, maybe you like it
Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2010
Yes, the error was on the demo. However, after opening a fresh copy of the demo, I cannot reproduce the error, so I must have done something weird while messing with it.
I'd also like to point out a display problem I had that I'm not sure is intentional. This is from a fresh copy of the demo.
The main visible problem in these screenshots is that the HP/SP/Exp text is visible on top of the custom bars. In the battle screenshot, the level text is also visible behind the ATB bars. Thinking about it, I am pretty sure that the error I found was caused by my attempt to fix this problem.
The other problem is that the ATB meters do not automatically center on the screen. If the player has less than four party members, the meters are in an incorrect location. Maybe your intention was to let the designer place the bars where they want. But if so, the position of the ATB meter should at least be set by a variable instead of a constant, so that I can easily change it when the player's party size changes.
Posts: 191
Threads: 81
Joined: Jul 2009
@LockeZ
Remember, this script ISN'T magic, many things must be configurated by the user. Options for that are already there, it's up to you to use them.
ALL (when i mean ALL, is really ALL), info postion can be set by the user.
You can change level, hp, sp, states and bars postions, if something don't fit well, it's up to you change.
About the HP/SP text, just leave them blank on the database.
About the time bars, you must set them centralized on the script. There's already an option for that, it's just up to you to set it.
Also, you can either remove the level display, move it somewhere else, or move the time bars, there's already options for all these things.
Posts: 77
Threads: 12
Joined: Sep 2009
@LockeZ
regarding the ATB bars look for that in the ATB script to centralize it :
Code: # Position of the character's Time Bars
Meter_Pos_Style = 1
# 0 = Horizontal Pattern, not centralized
# 1 = Horizontal Pattern, centralized
# 2 = Vertical Bars
# 3 = Under the characters
# 4 = Custom
for me this start at line 116
then to make it shown below the actor details (name, HP, etc) look for
Code: #Readjust the Time Bar's position on the battle screen
X_Meter = 12 # X position of the Bars
Y_Meter = 440 # Y position of the Bars
Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2010
When I open the demo, I can interact with the characters; but the text doesn't show up. I am using the legal version of RPG Maker XP too.
Any help?
Posts: 77
Threads: 12
Joined: Sep 2009
@ lonesomesilver ,
hello
go in the script "Main"
just right after the
insert :
of course you can replace "Arial" by any other font you like
Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2010
|